segunda-feira, 9 de julho de 2007

Emerson,Lake & Palmer - Pictures At An Exhibition (1971)

Pictures at an Exhibition is an album by BRITISH PROGRESSIVE ROCK band Emerson, Lake & Palmer, released in 1971 as a live album and re-released in 2001 as a remastered edition including both live and studio versions of Mussorgsky's classical piece Pictures at an Exhibition. The original live album was recorded at Newcastle City Hall in North East England. The opening track of the album was played on a Harrison & Harrison pipe organ which was installed in the City Hall in 1928.There was also a video made of a different live performance. This had a limited theatrical release in 1973, and a remastered DVD release with Dolby surround sound in 2000. This performance is notable for the energy passed by the three young musicians. Being a live album, sometimes Keith Emerson's voltage-controlled synthesizer plays the wrong notes, apparently due to power supply problems.This album produced much discussion, and has many lovers, who think the band did a great job arranging Mussorgsky's piece in an entirely different way, and adding some songs by themselves. On the other hand, this album is hated by an equal amount of people, with many rock fans finding it boring and self-indulgent, and fans of Mussorgky's work deeming it as a complete desecration of his work.

Keith Emerson - keyboard

Greg Lake - bass, guitar, vocals

Carl Palmer - percussion, drums

1. "Promenade" (Emerson, Mussorgsky) – 1:58
2. "The Gnome" (Mussorgsky, Palmer) – 4:18
3. "Promenade" (Lake, Mussorgsky) – 1:23
4. "The Sage" (Lake) – 4:42
5. "The Old Castle" (Emerson, Mussorgsky) – 2:33
6. "Blues Variation" (Emerson, Lake, Palmer) – 4:22
7. "Promenade" (Mussorgsky) – 1:29
8. "The Hut of Baba Yaga" (Mussorgsky) – 1:12
9. "The Curse of Baba Yaga" (Emerson, Lake, Palmer) – 4:10
10. "The Hut of Baba Yaga" (Mussorgsky) – 1:06
11. "The Great Gates of Kiev/The End" (Lake, Mussorgsky) – 6:37
12. "Nutrocker" (Tchaikovsky, Fowley) – 4:26


Um comentário:

Havelock'story disse...