sexta-feira, 21 de dezembro de 2007

AC/DC - Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap

Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is the second international studio album by Australian hard rock band AC/DC, released in December 1976 in Europe and delayed for release in the U.S. until April 1981. All songs were written by Angus Young , Malcolm Young, and Bon Scott.
Originally released on Atlantic Records, it peaked at #3 and is currently 6 times platinum. The album was re-released in 2003 as part of the AC/DC Remasters series.


This edition of Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is considerably different from the original Australian edition released in September 1976, featuring a different cover and track order.
On this album, the Australian version's "R.I.P. (Rock in Peace)" and "Jailbreak" are replaced by "Rocker" (from 1975's T.N.T.) and "Love at First Feel", the latter being one of only two tracks from international AC/DC albums not available on the band's Australian albums. (The other is "Cold Hearted Man", released on European pressings of Powerage.) Conversely, several songs that are available on Australian AC/DC albums have not seen overseas release. However, "Love at First Feel" was released in Australia as a single.
Two songs on the international album were edited from the full length versions on the original Australian album. The full length "Dirty Deeds" has the title of the song chanted 4 times starting at 3:09, but on the edited version the chant is heard only 2 times. "Ain't No Fun" lasted 7:29 on the Australian album but was faded out early to 6:57 on the international version. However, both these full length versions were restored on the 1994 Atco Records remastered CD of the international album. The most recent 2003 CD edition on Epic Records goes back to the edited versions as on the 1976 and 1981 international vinyl editions.
Though the international album was released by Atlantic Records in Europe in 1976 it was not picked up for U.S. release at the time. Following the American success of Highway To Hell in late 1979 copies of the international album, manufactured in Australia by Atlantic, began to appear as imports in the U.S. alongside the original Australian edition of the album on Albert Productions. Intense demand for both import versions led Atlantic to finally authorize the first U.S. release in April 1981.
Additionally, a song titled "I'm a Rebel" was recorded during the Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap sessions in September 1976, with music and lyrics written by Angus and Malcolm Young's older brother, Alex Young. This song was never released and remains in Albert Productions' vaults.
Angus came up with the title of the album when he was watching an episode of Beany And Cecil. The antagonist, Dishonest John, carried a card that read: "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, Special Holidays, Sundays and Rates".

Track listing:

All songs composed by Angus Young, Malcolm Young, and Bon Scott.
"Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" – 4:11 (full length version) 3:51 (edited version)
"Love at First Feel" – 3:10
"Big Balls" – 2:38
"Rocker" – 2:49
"Problem Child" – 5:44
"There's Gonna Be Some Rockin'" – 3:17
"Ain't No Fun (Waiting Round to Be a Millionaire)" – 7:29 (full length version), 6:57 (edited version)
"Ride On" – 5:49
"Squealer" – 5:14

  • Most editions of this album contain edited versions of the title track and "Ain't No Fun (Waiting Round to Be a Millionaire)." The 1994 remastered CD on Atco Records contains full length versions of both songs.
  • The track "Rocker" was originally released on T.N.T. in 1975.


Bon Scottlead vocals
Angus Younglead guitar
Malcolm Youngrhythm guitar, backing vocals
Mark Evansbass
Phil Rudddrums


Producers: Harry Vanda, George Young
Mastering supervisors: Michael Fraser, Al Quaglieri
Digital remastering: George Marino
Digital assembly: Eugene Nastasi
Cover design: Hipgnosis
Sleeve photo: Paul Canty
Photography: Hipgnosis, Philip Morris, Michael Putland, Neil Zlozower


Took from

Nenhum comentário: