domingo, 22 de julho de 2007

Yes - Yessongs

Yessongs is the first live album by the British progressive rock group Yes and was released in 1973. It mostly documents the tour for the album Close to the Edge but also features two tracks ("Perpetual Change" and "Long Distance Runaround/The Fish") recorded during the previous Fragile tour. Yessongs was originally a 3-disc set on vinyl, but is now a double CD.
The two Fragile tour tracks ("Long Distance Runaround/The Fish" and "Perpetual Change") are the only tracks on the album to feature Yes's original drummer, Bill Bruford, who left the group after recording Close to the Edge. For that album's tour, Yes were joined by drummer Alan White, who remains with the band to this day. White was only three years into his career as a session drummer, but had already worked with such notable acts as The Plastic Ono Band and Joe Cocker.
The album opens with an excerpt from Igor Stravinsky's The Firebird, which has been a standard opening Yes concerts ever since. Later in the album, vocalist Jon Anderson briefly sings a passage from Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring.
The album also contains a medley of excerpts from Rick Wakeman's debut solo album The Six Wives of Henry VIII, and Wakeman's keyboards add much to the tracks when compared to the studio albums, particularly "Starship Trooper" and "Roundabout".

Track listing

Disc one:
1- Opening (excerpt from 'Firebird Suite')" (Igor Stravinsky) – 3:47
2- Siberian Khatru (Jon Anderson, Steve Howe, Rick Wakeman) – 9:03
3- Heart of the Sunrise (Anderson, Bill Bruford, Chris Squire) – 11:33
4- Perpetual Change (Anderson, Squire) – 14:11
5- And You and I (Anderson, Bruford, Howe, Squire) – 9:33

  • a)Cord of Life
  • b)Eclipse (Anderson, Bruford, Squire)
  • c)The Preacher the Teacher
  • d)Apocalypse

6- Mood for a Day (Howe) – 2:53
7- Excerpts from 'The Six Wives of Henry VIII (Wakeman) – 6:37
8- Roundabout (Anderson, Howe) – 8:33

Disc two:
1- I've Seen All Good People (Anderson, Squire) – 7:09

  • a)Your Move (Anderson)
    b)All Good People (Squire)

2- Long Distance Runaround/The Fish (Schindleria Præmaturus) (Anderson, Squire) – 13:37

  • a)Long Distance Runaround (Anderson)
  • b)The Fish (Schindleria Præmaturus) (Squire)

3- Close to the Edge (Anderson, Howe) – 18:13

  • a)The Solid Time of Change
  • b)Total Mass Retain
  • c)I Get Up I Get Down (Anderson, Squire)
  • d)Seasons of Man

4- Yours Is No Disgrace (Anderson, Bruford, Howe, Tony Kaye, Squire) – 14:23
5- Starship Trooper (Anderson, Squire, Howe) – 10:08

  • a)Life Seeker (Anderson)
  • b)Disillusion (Squire)
  • c)Würm (Howe)

Link CD 1:

Link CD 2:

Nenhum comentário: