sábado, 6 de outubro de 2007

Pink Floyd - A Saucerful of Secrets(1968)

A Saucerful of Secrets is the second album by rock band Pink Floyd, and arguably one of the first progressive rock albums. It was recorded at EMI's Abbey Road Studios, at various dates from August, 1967 to April, 1968. Due to Syd Barrett's declining mental state, this would be the last Pink Floyd album that he would work on. During its difficult recording sessions, Barrett became increasingly unstable and in January of 1968, David Gilmour was brought in. Barrett was finally removed from the band by early March, leaving this new incarnation of Pink Floyd to finish the album. As a result, A Saucerful of Secrets is the only non-compilation Pink Floyd album on which all five band members appear, with Gilmour appearing on four songs (Let There Be More Light, Corporal Clegg, A Saucerful of Secrets, and See-Saw) and Barrett on three (Remember a Day, Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun, and Jugband Blues). As well as "Jugband Blues", the album was to include "Vegetable Man," another Syd Barrett song. However, the band believed "Vegetable Man," with its autobiographical lyrics, was unsuitable for inclusion and so it was left off the album. The song was to appear on a single as the b-side to another unreleased track, "Scream Thy Last Scream". Two additional Syd Barrett songs, "In The Beechwoods" and "No Title" were also recorded early in the sessions for the album.

An image of the Living Tribunal from Marvel Comics can be seen in the cover's upper left corner. "Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun" is the only Pink Floyd song that features all five band members. Keyboardist Rick Wright sings lead or backing vocals on 4 of the album's 7 songs, making this the only Pink Floyd album where Wright's vocal contributions out-number those of the rest of the band.

Roger Watersbass guitar, lead vocals
David Gilmour1960s (incorrectly spelled "Gilmore" on the album)
Rick Wrightpiano, organ, mellotron, vibraphone, lead vocals
Nick Masondrums, percussion, vocals
Syd Barrettrhythm guitar, lead guitar, lead vocals

1 - Let There Be More Light
2 - Remember A Day
3 - Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun
4 - Corporal Clegg
5 - A Saucerful Of Secrets
6 - See-Saw
7 - Jugband Blues


2 comentários:

Roderick Verden disse...

Five members in "Set the Control...". Instruments that we hear are: organ, mellotron, drums, bass and vibraphone. There's not guitar, right? Some people say Sid Barrett plays bass in this music.

Roderick Verden disse...

Sorry, this is my favorite Pink Floyd album. "See saw" is my favorite music.