sexta-feira, 27 de julho de 2007

Porcupine Tree - Deadwing

Deadwing is the eighth studio album by British progressive rock band Porcupine Tree, first released in March 28, 2005. It quickly became the band's best selling album to date. The album is based on a screenplay written by Steven Wilson and Mike Bennion, and is essentially a ghost story. Given its narrative, most fans have dubbed this a concept album. Wilson has expressed the intention to eventually have this film script made into a movie. All songs were written by Wilson except "Halo" and "Glass Arm Shattering" (Wilson/Barbieri/Edwin/Harrison) and "Start of Something Beautiful" (Wilson/Harrison).
The album includes collaborations with King Crimson's Adrian Belew (who plays guitar solos on tracks 1 and 4), and Opeth's Mikael Åkerfeldt (who adds vocal harmonies on tracks 1, 3 and 5, as well as the second guitar solo on track 5).

Concept and Storyline:
The complete concept and story has never been entirely announced by the band, and this is likely due to Wilson's intentions of attempting to turn this into a movie, and not wanting to spoil any portions of the story. Some fans have speculated at the plot based on extensive listening to the song, though there has been no official statement regarding the true meaning of the album.
On September 1, 2006, Steven Wilson announced in his blog that Mike Bennion (Co-writer of the Deadwing screenplay) had released the first ten pages of the story. It is available for reading on Mike Bennion's myspace blog and on the Deadwing microsite (albeit in a near-illegible format). The filmscript thus far has made several connections to the album in various ways; such as a reference to the line in Mellotron Scratch 'A tiny flame inside my hand' and to the artwork in the album's cover insert (more specifically the page with the lyrics to Halo scrawled in it).


Track listing:
"Deadwing" – 9:46
"Shallow" – 4:17
"Lazarus" – 4:18
"Halo" – 4:38
"Arriving Somewhere But Not Here" – 12:02
"Mellotron Scratch" – 6:57
"Open Car" – 3:46
"The Start of Something Beautiful" – 7:39
"Glass Arm Shattering" – 6:12


Nenhum comentário: