sábado, 28 de julho de 2007

Simon and Garfunkel - Sounds of Silence

Sounds of Silence is an album by Simon and Garfunkel, released on January 17, 1966. The album's title is a slight modification of the title of the duo's first major hit, "The Sound of Silence", which was released previously on the album Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M., and also on the soundtrack to the movie The Graduate.

"Homeward Bound" was released on the album in the UK.
Sounds of Silence was recorded in December 1965 at CBS studios in Nashville, Tennessee and Los Angeles, California. The album was produced by Bob Johnston.
Sounds of Silence was also released as part of the box set Simon & Garfunkel Collected Works, on both LP and CD.

The song "Richard Cory" was based on a poem with the same title by Edwin Arlington Robinson.
The English singer-songwriter Billy Bragg lifted the opening lines of "Leaves that are Green" ("I was 21 years when I wrote this song/I'm 23 now, but I won't be for long") for his song "A New England," which appeared on Bragg's 1983 EP Life's a Riot with Spy Vs Spy and was subsequently a UK hit for Kirsty MacColl.

"Somewhere They Can't Find Me" is essentially a reworking of the title track of the duo's first album, Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M.

There are three cover variations of the LP:

Original issue:
SIMON & GARFUNKEL on one line; SOUNDS OF SILENCE on another, all in capital letters, no song titles on the front.
Second issue:
Enlarged title letters, with only the first letter of the words "Sounds" and "Silence" in the album title capitalized. The first letters in "Simon" and "Garfunkel" are capitalized, but the rest are in lower-case. Song titles also included on the front.
Third issue:
Same front cover as the second, the back cover has the copy of Tiger Beat magazine in Garfunkel's hand airbrushed out

Paul Simon: lad vocals, guitar
Art Garfunkel: lead vocals
Glen Campbell: Guitar
Hal Blaine: Drums

Track listing:

"The Sound of Silence" (Paul Simon) – 3:08 SAMPLE
"Leaves that are Green" (Simon) – 2:23
"Blessed" (Simon) – 3:16
"Kathy's Song" (Simon) – 3:21
"Somewhere They Can't Find Me" (Simon) – 2:37
"Anji" (Davey Graham) – 2:17
"Richard Cory" (Simon) – 2:57
"A Most Peculiar Man" (Simon) – 2:34
"April Come She Will" (Simon) – 1:51
"We've Got a Groovey Thing Goin'" (Simon) – 2:00
"I Am a Rock" (Simon) – 2:50


Nenhum comentário: